Battlefield: Antietam Trip

IMG_8971

I captured some of my favorite images during a March 2012 trip to Antietam Battlefield in Maryland.  The trip allowed me to indulge two of my passions- history and photography- and was the first time I really focused on framing and composition.  Of course, inanimate objects and landscapes provided easy practice, but the weather was cold and rainy, lending a gloom that seemed appropriate for a battlefield that had seen the most deaths in a single battle during the Civil War.  The ardent historian in me felt that the images needed to feature the mood and feeling of a battlefield and hopefully inspiring a reverence for those who gave their lives for their passionate beliefs about whether or not the United States would remain united.

IMG_8569

Next month I’ll again have the opportunity to photograph Antietam and will be lucky enough to visit during the 150th anniversary of the battle.  Hopefully the weather will be nice and sunny so that I’ll be able to use a low ISO when photographing the reenactments scheduled on the 16th of September.   I’ve never been to a reenactment, but the idea sounds both fun and funny at the same time and I’m sure the nerd in me will be soaking up every second while the photographer in me will be snapping away!

2 responses to “Battlefield: Antietam Trip

  1. Pingback: Battlefield: Fort Necessity |·

  2. Pingback: Graphic Design: Steve’s 31st Birthday |·

What do you think?

