Battlefield: Fort Necessity

IMG_8433_4_5_fused

As a history buff, I immediately set my sights on visiting Fort Necessity when planning my trip to southwestern and central Pennsylvania.  Its proximity to Fallingwater and the mere fact that it’s a battlefield meant that it was a must-see for me!  (See my earlier post about Antietam and you’ll understand why there will be many more blog entries about battlefields in the future of this blog!)

After visiting Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob, I knew that I was going to be pressed for time due to both the closing time of the battlefield and the setting sun.  When I arrived at the Fort Necessity Visitor Center, the helpful gentleman working at the desk informed me that the best plan of action would be to immediately watch the informational film “Road of Necessity” and then see the rest of the museum before it closed.  I would then be free to wander down to the actual Fort Necessity site.

Download Full-Size Photos Without Watermarks Here

I can’t say enough about the quality of the museum- the interactive capability, the high quality of the exhibits, and attention to detail that brought a one day battle at the beginning of the French and Indian War to life was exceptional!  Wikipedia Crash Course:  Fort Necessity National Battlefield is a National Battlefield Site in Fayette County, Pennsylvania, United States, which preserves the site of the Battle of Fort Necessity. The battle, which took place on July 3, 1754, was an early battle of the French and Indian War, and resulted in the surrender of British colonial forces under Colonel George Washington, to the French and Indians, under Louis Coulon de Villiers.

Not knowing how the structures would be situated in such slanted sunlight was a bit worrisome . . . and I have to admit that I didn’t even do enough research to know what to expect.  So it was a huge surprise to me when I rounded a corner and saw how small the fort was- just the one building!  But it was beautifully-situated and was a thought-provoking reminder of how wars used to be fought.  I definitely would not have felt safe nor protected!

I was just beginning my exploration of HDR photography and was thrilled to have such a neat subject.  The photo at the top of this post is my favorite and so for comparison’s sake, I’ll show you the difference between HDR and regular photography with the same subject.  The one on the left is the HDR image from above and the photo on the right is a regular photo.  You can see how combining the different exposures really lets you capture a lot more detail!

Here are the rest of the photos from the trip!  Some are HDR and others not.  I tend to lean more toward realistic-looking HDR, so hopefully it will be a bit difficult to tell the difference for some!

“Like” Fort Necessity’s Facebook page here!

2 responses to “Battlefield: Fort Necessity

  1. Pingback: Vacation: Fallingwater, Kentuck Knob, Pennsylvania Countryside |·

  2. Pingback: Vacation: Martha’s Vineyard |·

What do you think?

