DC: HQT Photography Session

walk (41)-2

As a shutterbug, I can usually found behind the camera, so there are usually relatively few photos of me.  On group trips, I’m often absent and it usually appears as though Jonathan takes a lot of trips by himself!

Since photography is important to me, as an art form and a historical record, I had been on the lookout for a photography deal on Living Social or Groupon.  After a terrible experience with Peter Stepanek of Skyhighart Media, I purchased this Groupon to book Anthony, of HQT Photography.

The Plan:  Meet at Park East Apartments (the site of our first apartment), and then take photos along the way to The Black Squirrel, the site of our first date.  I’m sentimental, what can I say??

More sentimentality:  The first photo above is at the site of our first kiss.

The shoot was the morning after the movers delivered our items to the new apartment, so of course my intended outfit was MIA- packed away in a box with all of my hair products.  I also found that it was more difficult to be in front of the camera than behind!  But Anthony was wonderful- he was friendly and willing to take direction and listen to my ideas.  After a rough start on our part (it took awhile to get comfortable!), we decided to just be ourselves and walk around Adams Morgan.

Adams Morgan!

Adams Morgan!

Love the above photo!  It was Jonathan’s suggestion- is he developing a photographer’s eye?

Love this One!

Love this One!

My own taste in couple photography runs toward “everyday life” or “daily life” shoots.  I’m most drawn to and likely to frame photojournalistic shots, so I created this Pinterest board to send to Anthony to let him know what I was looking for.

We had a great time with Anthony and I’m excited to fulfill one of my 2013 goals:  Put photos in all of the empty frames I have around our apartment!

What do you think?

