Vacation: San Francisco (Day 3)

I remained in San Francisco for 6 more days following Jonathan’s departure and my days (and many evenings, too!) were filled with Fall Meeting events.  The week of the conference is exhausting- working 12-14 hour days for 7-8 days, but it’s also great to meet the students I correspond with all year!  And this year, I carved out some time for a little bit of fun!  Here I am below with a “furry” who attended the Meeting and with Mirelle at our AGU photobooth!

I was also able to attend my first poster presentation in 4 years of attendance at the Meeting!  Annie was an intern in our department and super sweet.  She did a wonderful job of explaining her poster on wetland plants in Tanzania to us in “layman’s terms.”

The largest geophysical (Earth & space science) meeting in the world, it was attended by over 22,000 people in 2013.  Below are some quick shots of just several rows of posters.  The actual Poster Hall is about 35 times this!

The same day (12 December), I met students at an outing I had arranged- an evening trip to the California Academy of Sciences.  The 4 story rainforest was amazing and the walk through the underwater tunnel was neat.  And the icing on the cake was the opportunity to meet up with my college friend, Parag!

In addition to the live music and Christmas decorations (see Abby below, as a reindeer!), we were surprised to have the opportunity to observe demonstrations of taxidermy.  Unexpected and fascinating in an odd way.

What do you think?

